Report on the iVote system

The NSW Electoral Commission has engaged Mr Roger Wilkins AO to undertake an inquiry concerning its iVote internet and telephone voting system. This follows the NSW Government’s response to the NSW Parliament’s Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters report on the 2015 State election.

Mr Wilkins will consult a panel of experts on security, auditing and scrutineering issues, including Mr Antony Green AO, Mr Alastair MacGibbon, and Professor Rodney Smith.

His report will be completed by May 2018.

The terms of reference of the report are:

  1. Whether the security of the iVote system is appropriate and sufficient.
  2. Whether the transparency and provisions for auditing the iVote system are appropriate.
  3. Whether adequate opportunity for scrutineering of the iVote system is provided to candidates and political parties.
  4. What improvements to the iVote system would be appropriate before its use at the 2019 State General Election.

Submissions are welcomed from any stakeholder.

Submissions may be made in writing to either:

GPO Box 832, Sydney NSW 2001

Submissions closed 31 December 2017.

About Roger Wilkins

Roger Wilkins was President of the Financial Action Task Force from 2014 to 2015, Secretary of the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department from September 2008 to August 2014, Head of Citigroup's Government and Public Sector Group Australia and New Zealand from 2006 to 2008, Director-General of the NSW Cabinet Office from 1992 to 2006, and Director-General of the NSW Ministry of the Arts from 2001 and 2006. Mr Wilkins is currently a senior adviser to Norton Rose Fulbright and is a Visiting Fellow of the Australian Strategic Policy Institute. Mr Wilkins was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2007.

About the panel of experts

Antony Green is the ABC’s Election Analyst. He was awarded a Bachelor of Science in Pure Mathematics and Computer Science, and a Bachelor of Economics with Honours in politics from the University of Sydney. He received an Honorary Doctor of Letters from the University of Sydney in 2014, and was appointed Adjunct Professor in its Department of Government and International Relations in 2015. Mr Green was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2017.

Alastair MacGibbon is Special Adviser to the Prime Minister on Cyber Security. He was formerly the Children's eSafety Commissioner, General Manager (Security) for Dimension Data Australia, Director of the University of Canberra’s Centre for Internet Safety, Managing Partner at Surete Group, CEO of the Council of Registered Ethical Security Testers Australia, Director of the Australian High Tech Crime Centre, eBay Asia Pacific’s Senior Director Trust, Safety & Customer Support, and Director of the Australian High Tech Crime Centre, Australian Federal Police.

Rodney Smith is Professor of Australian Politics in the Department of Government and International Relations at the University of Sydney. He has researched and published widely on elections and voting. Recent publications include ‘Confidence in Paper-Based and Electronic Voting Channels: Evidence from Australia’ (Australian Journal of Political Science, 2016), Australian Election Posters’ (in Christina Holtz-Bacha and Bengt Johansson (eds), Election Posters Around the Globe: Political Campaigning in the Public Space, Springer, 2017) and ‘Internet Voting in Sub-National Elections: Policy Learning in Canada and Australia’ (with Nicole Goodman, in Robert Krimmer et al. (eds.), Electronic Voting, Springer, 2017). He currently holds research grants from the Australian Research Council and the Electoral Regulation Research Network. He is often called on for media commentary on aspects of Australian politics.