2013 Redistribution process

A redistribution of state electoral boundaries was required in NSW as two state elections had been held since the last redistribution in 2004.

The Electoral Districts Commissioners gave notice to alter the electoral districts of New South Wales. The proposed names and proposed maps of the new electoral districts were published in the Government Gazette and on the redistribution website on Monday, 17 June 2013.

A written statement of the Commissioners' reasons was also available on the redistribution website.

Individuals and organisations were invited to make suggestions and objections in relation to any of the proposed electoral districts. All suggestions and objections were made available for public inspection on this website and at the Office of the Commissioners from Friday, 19 July 2013.

The Commissioners received a total of 258 suggestions or objections to the proposed boundaries by the receipt end date of Wednesday, 17 July 2013. The suggestions and objections included valuable input from individuals where the submissions focused particularly on local and regional interests. The Commissioners considered all suggestions and objections received when determining the final boundaries.

A public inquiry was held on Monday, 5 August 2013 and those who sought to make an oral submission were contacted by the Redistribution Secretariat and sent the Guidelines for public inquiry. The Public inquiry was held at The Portside Centre (Symantec House, Level 5, 207 Kent Street, Sydney).

On Monday, 16 September 2013 the Commissioners presented the report to the Governor. Proclamation took place on Wednesday, 18 September and announced in the NSW Gazette on Thursday, 19 September 2013.

It must be noted that the 2013 redistribution only came into effect at the March 2015 State Election. Any state district by-elections that took place prior to the March 2015 State Election were conducted on the applicable 2004 district boundaries.

Determined Boundary maps

Overview of Redistribution Determinations


In accordance with the Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Act 1912, the Electoral Districts Commissioners followed this timetable when conducting the redistribution process: