State Election
2015 Results

Continue Work at Elections

Your council, your life, your vote

NSW Local Council Elections — 10 Sept 2016

Not all councils are holding elections this September.

The website details how, when, where, and who has to vote.

Due to scheduled maintenance, parts of this website will not be available from 9pm on Friday, 29 July 2016 until 12pm (mid-day) on Saturday, 30 July 2016.

This site is the main, day to day, New South Wales Electoral Commission website.

At the time of a NSW State election or state-wide Local Government elections a specific event site ( will be available. Key details relevant to the particular event will be found on that site.

The NSW Electoral Commission

The NSW Electoral Commission is a statutory authority comprising three members appointed by the Governor of NSW.

The Commission approves funding to independent MPs, candidates and parties and enforces provisions of three NSW Acts.

It can conduct and promote research into electoral matters.

Find out more information about the work the Commission does, how it increases public awareness of its work and decisions and the members of the Commission.

This diagram shows the relationship between the NSW Electoral Commission, the Electoral Commissioner and the Parliament of NSW.

Electoral Commissioner led agency

The public service agency led by the Electoral Commissioner.

The agency conducts the NSW State Election, maintains the NSW roll of electors and conducts most local government elections in NSW. The Electoral Commissioner is responsible for the operations of the agency.

Find out more information about the work of the agency.

Reporting to the NSW Parliament

The NSW Electoral Commission and the Electoral Commissioner led public service agency work together, yet independently of each other.

The Electoral Commissioner reports to the NSW Parliament's Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters.

Find out more information about this Committee and the Electoral Commissioner.


New councils announced

NSW Premier Mike Baird and the Minister for Local Government Paul Toole announced 19 new councils in NSW commencing 12 May 2016. The Minister has also indicated his in principle support to create a further 9 new councils, subject to the decision of the courts.

Elections for councils unaffected by the amalgamation process will take place on Saturday 10th September 2016. For a list of the those councils conducting elections in September 2016 see

Elections for new councils will take place on Saturday 9 September 2017. For further information on the amalgamation process and outstanding amalgamation proposals see


State & Local Government Elections

State and Local By-elections